Time is running out to sign up for our last BOOTCAMP cohort of 2023. Find out more and apply

Meet the Instructor: Carly Watson

How long have you been coding? How did you get started?

3(ish) years. I got into tech by accident really, as I was trying to get into marketing. Long story short I ended up supporting our Pega System Architects with some basic tasks. I was good at it, and after doing a html and CSS course I just fell in love! The work I do with Pega is actually low code, but I do a lot of coding in my spare time!

What do you enjoy about working at Manchester Codes? // New? What are you most looking forward to with working at Manchester Codes?

I am most looking forward to meeting some new people and working with people who have the same interests as me! I'm also keen to learn, as I just love to build on what I already know and then share this with others.

What gets you excited about Technology?

At the minute I am trying to do whatever I can to encourage more women into careers in tech. I'm excited about how much is out there at the moment to help more women into tech and I try and get myself as involved as I can.

Favourite language and framework/library/ tool?

I think I would have to say JavaScript, but that might be because it's what I'm better at ha ha.

Least favourite language and framework/library/ tool?

C#... I started to learn it and I hated it...

One piece of advice you have for people fresh to Software development?

Just keep going, one day it will just click. Also, google is your best friend. Don't know how to do something, google it... someone will have done it before and it will be there for you to learn!!

Outside of work, what do like to do for fun? How do you spend your downtime?

In my spare time I like to spend time with my fiance and our two gorgeous dogs. We love nothing more than to go for a long walk and an adventure. We love camping and going away to Scotland. We also converted our garage into a gym and we love to do a CrossFit/strongman type workout.

What did you want to be when you were younger?

A barrister. I didn't even really know what one was, but I loved to argue so I was told I would be good at it!!

Do you have a pet? If so, what do you have?

We have two gorgeous Labradors. Huey is a yellow lab and he is 9 years old, and Helga is almost 6 months and a black lab.

If you could be a superhero, who would you be and why?

I have to admit, I'm not really into the whole superhero/marvel stuff... But if I had to pick... probably Batman as he seems to be a bit grumpy and I can also be like that!!

What would your dream holiday destination be?

Australia. I was extremely lucky to live there for a bit a few years ago and I would absolutely love to return.

If you were stranded on a remote island, alone. What piece of technology/ gadget would you be unable to live without?

My phone. I know it seems boring but I would be able to video call my fiance and the dogs!! Although, it's probably unlikely there would be WiFi, so at least I could look at their pictures and play candy crush when I got bored!

Command Shift logo
Office One, 1 Coldbath Square